Council Member Jeff Wood

Council Member

Jeff Wood

Council Member Jeff Wood was first elected to the Lakewood City Council in March 2011. He ran unopposed for a second term in March 2015, and in March 2020 was re-elected to a third term running through March 2024. He served as mayor from 2015-2016 and completed his second term as mayor on April 12, 2022.

From 1999 to 2011, Jeff was a member of the Lakewood Recreation and Community Services Commission, serving three terms as commission chair.

Professionally, Jeff has extensive career experience in risk management, business continuity, occupational safety and health, and emergency management.

Jeff is a graduate of Lakewood High School and California State University, Long Beach, where he received a degree in Speech Communication. Jeff and his wife Mary Jane chose Lakewood to buy their first home and to raise their two daughters.

Jeff volunteers with the Pan American Association. He previously served as a board member of the Friends of the Lakewood Libraries, a member of the Sheriff's Homeland Security Advisory Council and was a Volunteers on Patrol team member assigned to the Lakewood Sheriff's Station.

Council Member Wood's current term on the City Council runs through March 2024.


Council Member Wood serves as Lakewood's representative to the California Contract Cities Association, where he was elected in 2022 to serve as president, and the Southeast Resource Recovery Facility (SERRF) Joint Powers Authority, where he was elected to serve as chair in 2022.
He also serves as the chair of the SELACO Workforce Development Policy Board and as Lakewood's alternate representative for the California Joint Powers Insurance Authority.
Council Member Wood was appointed by Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon to the Governing Board of the California Earthquake Authority.


Council Member Wood serves as chair of the:
  • Board of Electors of the Lakewood Youth Hall of Fame.
  • Park Development Committee.
He is also a member of the Environmental Management Committee, Economic Development Committee and Capital Improvement Plan Committee.