Council Member Cassandra Chase

Council Member

Cassandra Chase

Council Member Cassandra Chase was elected to the Lakewood City Council on June 7, 2022 by the voters of District 5 of the city. 

Cassandra was born and raised in Lakewood, and graduated from St. Joseph High School in Lakewood and the University of California, Irvine.

Cassandra’s parents instilled in her the value of service. She has been a longtime volunteer with the Lakewood Jaycees, serving as a former Miss Greater Lakewood, which has inspired her about the community’s ability to come together toward a common purpose.

Cassandra was one of the first Lakewood community members to be appointed to serve on the Measure L Citizens Oversight Committee starting in 2020.  

Professionally, Cassandra is a business strategist and social entrepreneur who works to provide marginalized groups the opportunities and access they need to succeed. She founded Chase Consulting Group (CCG), a boutique business consulting firm that provides strategic management, business development and marketing services to small businesses and non-profit organizations.

She also co-founded Read Lead, a non-profit organization that empowers the next generation of leaders through literacy-based programming.

In addition, Cassandra serves as the Coordinator of the Empowerment Congress, a model of civic engagement built on the core principles of participatory democracy, reciprocal accountability and intentional civility.

Council Member Chase’s current term on the City Council runs through 2026.

Council Member Chase represents Lakewood on the League of California Cities (Annual League Conference).

She serves as Lakewood’s alternate representative on the:

  • California Contract Cities Association.
  • Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG) general assembly.
  • League of California Cities (L. A. County Division).
  • Southeast Water Coalition.

Cassandra is chair of the City Council's Community Promotion Committee and Audit Committee.

She is a member of the Capital Improvement Plan Committee.