Homepage ... > Recreation and Community Services > Special events > Youth Hall of FameE-mail storyPrint friendly format
Lakewood Youth Sports Hall of Fame

Lakewood Youth Hall of Fame
Each year, the City of Lakewood honors its youth athletes at the Lakewood Youth Hall of Fame banquet. The Hall of Fame recognizes outstanding athletes, teams, boosters and athletic achievements as well as Athlete of the Year and Performers of the Year for over a dozen sports. Special Achievement awards are also presented for academics and other significant contributions to youth sports in Lakewood.

This popular event is generally held annually in February. Nominations may be submitted to the Department of Recreation and Community Services no later than the first week of December of each year.

Nomination forms are available at Lakewood City Hall and Lakewood parks or written nominations with complete information including nominee's name, address and phone number and detailed accomplishments may be submitted. Achievements are considered for sports seasons ending during the current calendar year.

For further information, including ticket prices, please call 562-866-9771 extension 2408.

A shrine for sports heroes at Lakewood McDonald's

A spectacular history of the Lakewood Youth Hall of Fame is on display at the McDonald's restaurant at 4848 Woodruff Avenue at Del Amo Boulevard. The Hall of Fame Gallery has been housed at the restaurant since 1982 thanks to the generosity of Ron Piazza, operator of the McDonald’s restaurants in Lakewood and one of the founders of the Hall of Fame.

Displays and interactive DVD presentations tell the story of the city’s sports champions. Local sports memorabilia is displayed along with the portraits of Athletes of the Year and such Lakewood icons as Lisa Fernandez, John Ford, Pete Manarino, Jack Huntsinger, John Herbold, Mike Rae, and Jason Kapono. "I can’t tell you how many moms and dads have brought their sons or daughters in here over the years and pointed up to plaques that had their name on it," Piazza noted during the Hall of Fame rededication. “When I see that, it really makes me feel good.”

VIDEO: Lakewood Youth Hall of Fame recognizes student athletes

Dion Wright, Mayfair High basketball standout (left), and Myles V. Smith, cross country star from St. John Bosco High (right), are the Lakewood Youth Hall of Fame Co-Athletes of the Year for 2012. Honoring their accomplishments, and those many other student athletes, was part of the the 32nd annual Hall of Fame banquet held on February 25 at the Centre at Sycamore Plaza.

CityTV segment on Co-Athlete of the Year Winner Dion Wright:

CityTV segment on Co-Athlete of the Year Winner Myles V. Smith:

Wright starred on the Monsoons’ CIF championship team earning league MVP and CIF Player of the Year awards while averaging 19.6 points and 8.7 rebounds per game. Smith was CIF Southern Section individual cross-country champion, finished second in the California State Championships and won three invitational meets and the Trinity League championship.

In addition to the top awards, Performers of the Year were recognized for 15 sports, and Special Achievement awards were presented to scholar athletes, youth coaches, Special Olympics athletes and for outstanding high school career. The awards are for achievements from the sports seasons that ended in calendar year 2012.

Complete list of awards for the 32nd Annual Lakewood Youth Hall of Fame

2012 Award Recipients
Co-Athletes of The Year


MYLES V. SMITH, St. John Bosco High School – Cross Country


DION WRIGHT, Mayfair High School – Basketball


Performers of The Year



Michelle Seang, Lakewood High School



Jordan Aboites, Mayfair High School

Shane Watson, Lakewood High School



Michele Pennala, Saint Joseph High School


Cross Country

Itzel Vasquez-Rodriguez, Mayfair High School



Francisco Galan, Artesia High School 


Josh Iverson, Mayfair High School

Tiffany Whittaker, Mayfair High School


Marissa Martinez, Saint Joseph High School



Natalie De Leon, Saint Joseph High School

Aaron Thompson, Mayfair High School



Jessica Scroggins, Lakewood High School


Lacey Buck, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo (Lakewood HS)

Daniel McArthur, Lakewood High School



Kyle Konishi, Mayfair High School


Track and Field

Jessica Rotter, Saint Joseph High School



Taylor Hollins, University of Miami (Lakewood HS)

Megan Kruidhoff, Lakewood High School


Water Polo

Ryan Dorris, Lakewood High School



Cristian Rodriguez, Artesia High School


Distinguished Nominees



John Paul Crawford, Lakewood High School

Greg Humbert, Mayfair High School


Cross Country

Alison Kearney, Lakewood High School

Kala Kopecek, Saint Joseph High School



Toa Lobendahn, Lakewood High School

Aaron Minor, Mayfair High School



Zoe Mascola, Saint Joseph High School



Gisella “Gigi” Mendoza, Saint Joseph High School


Moises Cisneros, Artesia High School

Jasmine Cornejo, Artesia High School

Jose Garcia, Artesia High School

Itzel Gonzalez, Artesia High School



Nyah Rodman, Mayfair High School

Jessica Torrez, Mayfair High School



Amanda Loya, Saint Joseph High School

Maryssa McArthur, Lakewood High School



Richard Rideout, Lakewood High School

Alexis Yeoman, Lakewood High School


Track and Field

Amir Bradley, Lakewood High School



Heather Eggers, Lakewood High School

Madison Seaman, Mayfair High School


Water Polo

Tessa Driskell, Lakewood High School


Special Achievement Awards


Scholar Athlete of the Year

Anika Benons, Mayfair High School

Katelyn Holm, Calvary Chapel of Downey

Kira Ito, Artesia High School

Julea Lipiz, Saint Joseph High School

Alyson Young, Lakewood High School

Most Outstanding High School Career

Jordan Aboites, Mayfair High School

Maryssa McArthur, Lakewood High School

Jessica Rotter, Saint Joseph High School


Special Olympics Outstanding Athlete

Tyler Cribbs, Lakewood Special Olympics


Outstanding Youth Team

Lady Aliens – Girls Basketball, Lakewood Special Olympics

49ers – Boys Basketball, Lakewood Special Olympics

Unified Golf, Lakewood Special Olympics


Special Olympics Coach of the Year

Lorraine Delarosa


LYS Volunteer Coach Mayor’s Award

Tim Hassien

Joey Hisquierdo

Robert Speno


High School Varsity League Champions

Artesia High School Boys Soccer

Lakewood High School Badminton

Lakewood High School Boys Volleyball

Mayfair High School Baseball

Mayfair High School Boys Basketball

Mayfair High School Girls Basketball

Mayfair High School Cross Country

Mayfair High School Girls Track and Field

Mayfair High School Girls Volleyball

Saint Joseph High School Girls Golf

Saint Joseph High School Girls Soccer

Saint Joseph High School Girls Swimming


CIF Champions

Mayfair High School Boys Basketball